SpawnPoint


Go Back   SpawnPoint > SpawnPoint General > General Games Discussion

General Games Discussion This is a multi-platform, general games discussion forum; uncategorizable game related material belongs here.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-19-2008, 09:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
RAZR RAZR will become famous soon enoughRAZR will become famous soon enough
Reputation: 114
SpawnPoint VIP
 
RAZR's Avatar
 
Member's Mood

Hackers Caught: 29
Default Phishing ?

I just received that in junk on hotmail, I didn't want to click on it, when I put my mouse on the url, it showed another website than the one showed.

I received 2 of that steamban thing ..





This really look like phishing, am I wrong ?
RAZR is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Activity Longevity Today Posts
12/20 7/20 1/5
1,325
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 09:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
cpnichol cpnichol has a spectacular aura aboutcpnichol has a spectacular aura aboutcpnichol has a spectacular aura about
Reputation: 236
Resolution Manager
 
cpnichol's Avatar
 
Member's Mood

Hackers Caught: 593
Default

It is some kind of phishing / virus type thing, do not click the link. This is an email I got from Steambans:

"This is a warning for some of you that have received an email from "admin@steambans.com" with a link to a supposed new game-portal: <b>Do NOT click the link.</b>

As this is a recent event and investigation is still pending I will not make any statements towards the cause yet, but this is what I have concluded thus far:

1. Only some people registered here received the mail.
2. E-mail addresses not registered here also got the mail.
3. The e-mail address used (admin@steambans.com) is not an existing e-mail address, the technique used is a commonly used one to send seemingly trustworthy information and not something we can control.

Nonetheless, as proper Samaritans we have sent all the information available to us to the ISP and filed so-called 'abuse reports' at the related web instances.

Again, do NOT click the link - and if you did, make sure to run a virus and spayware scan. Below are a few programs I recommend in case you did:

<u>Spyware</u>
- <a href="Ad-Aware 2007 Free - Lavasoft" target="_blank">Lavasoft Ad-Aware</a>
- <a href="The home of Spybot-S&D!" target="_blank">Spybot Search and Destroy</a>

<u>Anti-virus</u>
- <a href="Free antivirus software download" target="_blank">Avast!</a>
- <a href="Free Virus Scan - Kaspersky Lab" target="_blank">Kasperky Online Scanner</a>"
cpnichol is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Activity Longevity Today Posts
15/20 19/20 5/5
2,940
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 09:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
RAZR RAZR will become famous soon enoughRAZR will become famous soon enough
Reputation: 114
SpawnPoint VIP
 
RAZR's Avatar
 
Member's Mood

Hackers Caught: 29
Default

I just opened the mail, to screen them, but I didn't click on any url.
RAZR is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Activity Longevity Today Posts
12/20 7/20 1/5
1,325
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 10:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Drifter Drifter will become famous soon enoughDrifter will become famous soon enough
Reputation: 119
SpawnPoint VIP
 
Drifter's Avatar
 
Member's Mood

Hackers Caught: 26
Default

yea I got the same thing phil got. But I never got any sketchy email. But I wouldn't clicky any thing and yea its suppose to take you to a site that gives you virus or something.
__________________
Drifter is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Activity Longevity Today Posts
17/20 8/20 2/5
1,470
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 11:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
chucky chucky is on a distinguished road
Reputation: 11
The Bait
 
chucky's Avatar
 
Member's Mood

Hackers Caught: 3
Default

yea i got that but i ignored it and just deleting the message right away.
__________________
Gamename: Chucky or Gaborik

Come Visit 69.90.208.9:27015 -- CS:S - GUNGAME DEATHMATCH | 66tic

If you like my posts +rep plz




chucky is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Activity Longevity Today Posts
0/20 8/20 0/5
78
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC7

SpawnPoint: Game File Community featuring PC Video Gaming, Free PC Games, Counter-Strike, Action And Strategy Files, Game Forums and Game News


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44